# MINUTES OF THE CoS MEETING HELD ON 24 NOVEMBER 2015 AT 2.30 PM AT THE HO CHI MINH CONFERENCE ROOM, AIS

The following members were present at the meeting:

- 1. Prof Shri Prakash
- 2. Prof Rashmi Doraiswamy
- 3. Ajay Darshan Behera
- 4. Dr G M shah
- 5. Dr Mathew Joseph
- 6. Dr Shahid Tasleem
- 7. Dr Abuzar Khairi
- 8. Dr M Sohrab
- 9. Dr Mujib Alam
- 10. Dr B K Pratihari
- 11. Dr NR Khan
- 12. Dr Aliva Mishra
- 13. Ms S Chattaraj
- 14. Dr Tennyson
- 15. Dr Angira Sensarma
- 16. Dr Safia Mehdi
- 17. Dr G Mahanta

The following external members were present at the meeting

#### Prof Chintamani Mahapatra

Prof Bahaguna

Prof Anita Sharma regretted she could not come, since she was down with viral infection.

- 1. The minutes of the last CoS meeting were confirmed
- 2. The course structure and MA syllabus of the proposed MA Programme were placed before the meeting. The CoS was informed in detail of the
  - i) Constitution of a Committee to formulate the proposed MA programme at the AIS consisting of the senior-most member of every area being studies at the AIS
  - ii) The placing of the decisions taken in the meetings of the MA Committee in the faculty meetings for further discussion
  - iii) The Workshop held on 18<sup>th</sup> November 2015 to discuss the course structure and syllabus. Experts from JNU, DU, JMI, AMU gave their detailed comments on the courses.

The title for the course that the Workshop participants approved was MA POLITICS (INTERNATIONAL AND AREA STUDIES).

The CoS after further discussion, also approved the following title:

# MA POLITICS (INTERNATIONAL AND AREA STUDIES)

It also approved the course structure and syllabus of the MA Programme.

3. The following CBCS courses were approved by the meeting:

#### Dr G M Shah

i) Geo-Hazards and Natural Disaster Management

#### Dr Bijay Pratihari

- ii) Colonialism and Political Developments in Africa
- iii) Contemporary International politics

### Ms Saheli Chattaraj

- iv) Elementary Chinese I
- v) State and Society in China (1911–1980s)

## Dr Tennyson and Dr Angira Sarma

- vi) Afghanistan Post-2001
- 4. I) New courses in Certificate in Chinese Language and Diploma in Chinese Language were approved.

II) The title of the Intensive Course in Chinese will be changed to Diploma (Intensive) in Chinese.

III) The eligibility criteria for admission to the Chinese language courses has been changed to 55% in BA instead of the existing 55% in MA.

5. i) The following faculty members were appointed as supervisors to the 3<sup>rd</sup> year MPhil students:

S.No	Name of Student	APPROVED TOPICS	Name of the supervisor
1	Arko Dasgupta	Contributions to Alternative International Relations: Rabindranath Tagore's Readings on Modernity, State and Nationalism	Dr. Mathew Joseph C.
2	Azeemah Saleem	Tribal Factionalism and Nation-State Building in Post Qadhafi Libya	Dr. Mohammed Sohrab

3	Kashif Anwar	The Role of Major Players in the	Prof Shri Prakash
		South China Sea Disputes: A Case Study of China	
4	Md. Shaique Hussain	The Role of Ideology in Turkish Foreign Policy: A Study of the A.K. Party Period, 2002-15	Dr. Mujib Alam
5	Michael Akbar Hashmy	Financial Crisis of 2008 and its Socio- Economic Impact on Malaysia	Prof Shri Prakash
6	Mohammed Rashid	Political Violence in Post- Soviet Chechnya: A Case Study of State and Non- State Actors	Prof Rashmi Doraiswamy
7	Muhmina Mumthaz Jahan T.	Neo-Liberalism and the Growth of Political Violence: A Case Study of Pakistan	Dr. Mathew Joseph C.
8	Navneet Yadav	State and Minorities: A Case Study of Ahmadis in Pakistan	Dr. Aliva Mishra
9	Tabasum Aslam	Role of Women in Arab Uprising : A Case Study of Egypt	Dr. Mohammed Sohrab
10	Upendra Kumar	Religion in Bangladeshi Politics: A Case Study of Jamaat-e- Islami	Dr. Aliva Mishra
11	Mustaq Ahmad Wani	Interacting with the State : Religion and Political Identity of Turkey during the AKP Period (2002- Present)	Dr. Mujib Alam

ii) Dr Shahid Tasleem will be the PhD supervisor of Ouma Chintamnee Seebaluck

- 5. I) The following PhD students have been granted extension of 1 year from December 2015 for the submission of their thesis.
- i) Md. Afroz
- ii) Adani Kollo
- iii) Syed Mohd. Abbas
- iv) Wakeel Ahmed
- v) Azhar Ali
- vi) Rohit Mehtani
- vii) Tarique Anwar
- viii)M. Abdul Samad Ibrahim
- ix) Ghazala Zubair